Title:   Hysteria A memoir of illness strength and womens stories throughout history
Author:   Bryant Katerina
Publisher:   UNSW Press NewSouth
Binding:   Paperback
Edition:  
APN:   9781742236773 or ISBN(1742236774)
$29.99
$29.99
RRP:  
$29.99 
 
Availability:   In Stock - Ready for dispatch or pickup, we'll email you to confirm.
eBook:  

When Katerina Bryant suddenly began experiencing chronic seizures, she was plunged into a foreign world of doctors and psychiatrists, who understood her condition as little as she did. Reacting the only way she knew how, she immersed herself in books, reading her way through her own complicated diagnosis and finding a community of women who shared similar experiences.

In the tradition of Siri Hustvedts The Shaking Woman, Bryant blends memoir with literary and historical analysis to explore womens medical treatment. Hysteria retells the stories of silenced women, from the Queen of Hysterics Blanche Wittmann to Mary Glovers illness termed hysterica passio a panic attack caused by the movement of the uterus in London in 1602 and more. By centring these stories of women who had no voice in their own diagnosis and treatment, Bryant finds her own voice: powerful, brave and resonant.


[ Search for more Items | Add this Item to your Basket | View your Basket |Ordering FAQs | Check Freight Charges ]