Gerald Murnane Collected Short Fiction

Title:   Gerald Murnane Collected Short Fiction
Author:   Murnane Gerald
Publisher:   Giramondo Publishing Edition:  2018 Binding: Paperback
APN:   9781925336641 or ISBN(1925336646)
Our Price:   $32.50  
Availability:   In Stock - will despatch next working day. Walk-in shoppers should ring ahead to ensure shelf availability

This volume brings together Gerald Murnane's shorter works of fiction, most of which have been out of print for the past twenty five years. They include such masterpieces as When the Mice Failed to Arrive, Stream System, First Love, Emerald Blue, and The Interior of Gaaldine, a story which holds the key to the long break in Murnanes career, and points the way towards his later works, from Barley Patch to Border Districts. Much is made of Murnanes distinctive and elaborate style as a writer, but there is no one to match him in his sensitive portraits of family members parents, uncles and aunts, and particularly children and in his probing of situations which contain anxiety and embarrassment, shame or delight.

Gerald Murnane is the author of eleven books of fiction, including Tamarisk Row, Inland, Barley Patch, A History of Books, A Million Windows and Border Districts, and a collection of essays, Invisible Yet Enduring Lilacs, which have been published by Giramondo. He is a recipient of the Patrick White Literary Award, the Melbourne Prize for Literature, the Adelaide Festival Literature Award for Innovation and the Victorian Premiers Literary Award.

Add this Item to your Basket